BRITISH MOUNTAINEERING COUNCIL

177-179 Burton Road Manchester M20 2BB www.thebmc.co.uk Tel: 0161 445 6111 Fax: 0161 445 4500 Email: <u>office@thebmc.co.uk</u>

Minutes of the Peak Area Annual General Meeting Wednesday 22nd November 2017 The Maynard, Grindleford

Present:

Rob Greenwood (chair)	Becky Hammond (secretary)	Louise Hawson (access rep / Stanage Forum)
Lynn Robinson	Steve Clark	Dave Turnbull (BMC CEO)
Andy Reeve	Graham Parkes	John Graveling
Mike Waters	Mary Waters	Chris Radcliffe
Gill Radcliffe	Andy Cairns	Alison Cairns
Hazel Jones	Henry Folkard	Eleanor Roddick
Ed Douglas	John Horscroft	Tim Grice
Colin Nave (Tuesday)	Colin Densen (Tuesday)	Phil Cox
Julie Morrissy	Laura Myers	Gerry Myers
Dave Parry	Mike Cheque	Toby Wilson
Pete Tapping	Felicity Manning	Toby Manning
Ian Smith	Nick Longland	Martin Wragg
Paul Justin	Dan Hoyle	Neil Roden (FRCC)
Sharon Hancock	Toby Wright	James Jacobs (Peak Bolt Fund)
Pete Lancaster (Oread)	Spenser Gray (Oread)	Pam Storer (Oread)
Chris Moor	Peter Judd (Hill walking rep)	Jamie Sparkes
Ed Teale	Judith Brown	Michael Smith (Yorks. Ramblers)
Christina Richards	David Brown (Peak CC)	Jim Walton (Assoc. of Mountaineering Instructors)
Phil Cooper	Fran Hammond	Ted Rodgers
John Gresty	Gordon Riley	Linda McLeish (Castle MC)
Peter Hammond	John Bayliss (Peak CC)	Jean Thomas
David Pendlebury	Tina Wilkinson	Spencer Ramsey
James Scott (Chamois)	Brian Griffiths	Graham Richmond (Bowline CC)
Yvonne Alexander	Neil Foster	Clare Reading (FRCC)
Geoff Nichols (Castle MC)	Charles Skeavington	Simon Lee (UK Bouldering & BMC)
	Total signed in = 81	Headcount = 105

1. Apologies

Sue Smith (PDNPA) Simon Jacques Valerie Partington Mark Warwicker Mark Vallance John Coefield Greg Bristol Clarke Boulter Alan James Glynnis Judd Andy Tickle Carl Bedson Ian Milward Rick Gibbon Martin Kocsis Adam Peels

2. Minutes of previous AGM held on 26th November 2016 – accepted as a true record

3. Chair's report

Rob Greenwood had not prepared a written report. In summary he said it had been a cracking year, with some "outrageous" meetings. The desired peaceful ending had not happened.

4. Election of officers

The election process was chaired by Steve Clark.

The following positions were voted in en bloc unopposed:

Chair – Rob Greenwood

Secretary – Becky Hammond

Hill Walking Representatives – Peter Judd and Austin Knott

The role of Clubs Committee representative is not due for re-election until 2019 and is still held by David Brown.

National Council representatives: Each BMC member present was permitted to vote for two out of the four candidates in a secret ballot. Votes cast were as follows:

Andy Reeve – 37; Mark McKenzie – 13; Alison Cairns – 54; David Brown – 49 Alison Cairns and David Brown were duly elected.

5. Vote of thanks

On behalf of the meeting, Rob Greenwood expressed his thanks to the team of volunteer Access Reps who are at the forefront of what BMC members think is important. Also the Area Youth Co-ordinators, the Hill Walking Reps, David Brown (National Council rep) and Dave Parry and John Coefield for producing the area newsletter.

6. Dates of the 2018 meetings

- 31st January
- 4th April
- 23rd May
- 5th September
- 21st November

all at the Maynard Arms, Grindleford, S32 2HE
