BRITISH MOUNTAINEERING COUNCIL

177-179 Burton Road Manchester M20 2BB

www.thebmc.co.uk

Tel: 0161 445 6111 Fax: 0161 445 4500

Email: office@thebmc.co.uk

Minutes of The Peak Area Annual General Meeting Wednesday 21st November 2018, The Maynard, Grindleford

Present:

Rob Greenwood Mike Snell Stephen Coughlan Alison Cairns Ian Milward Joel Mitchel

Robert Townsend (The Mountain Club, Stafford)

Martin Wass

Ian Carr (BMC guidebooks) Clare Reading (FRCC) Lynn Robinson (BMC President) Simon Lee (UK Bouldering)

Toby Wright John Coefield

Graham Robinson (Bowline CC)

Pete Hammond Linda McLeish Annie Mays

Gill Radcliffe (Oread CC)

Peter Judd **Austin Knott** John Cook

Chris Allewell (Beyond The Edge) Ed Chard (CC / Jagged Globe)

Mark Rankine

Louise Hawson (access rep / Stanage Forum)

Becky Hammond Tony Sawbridge Richard Wheeldon **Andy Cairns** Tim Grice

Alan James (UK Climbing) Frag Last Hamish Forbes Paul Evans Steve Clark

Dave Turnbull (BMC CEO) Chris Taylor Rik Payne Simon Wilson **Toby Archer** Geoff Nichols (Castle MC)

David Pendlebury David Eatson Alistair Bovd

Henry Folkard (access rep) David Brown Spence Ramsey Jamie Sparkes Tim Banton

James Jacobs (Peak Bolt Fund)

Laura Smitton

Chris Hindley Paul Harrison Eleanor Roddick Spenser Gray

Dave Parry Fiona Jones Tom Dunne Pete Tapping Steve Clegg Martin Kocsis Paul Mitchell Katy Taylor Kim Leyland Neil Kershaw

Jane Hammond

Graeme Hammond Tony Mays David Vervant? Elaine Winton Chris Radcliffe Tina Wilkinson Tom Appleby Felicity Freeman Marc Bellingall Mike Cheque

77 people signed in

Apologies:

Neil Foster, Hazel Jones, Valerie Partington, Mark McKenzie, Emma Holland, Mark Warwicker, Glynnis Judd, Caroline Fanshaw

1. Minutes of the previous AGM held on 22 November 2017

Agreed as correct.

2. Chair's report

Once again 2018 has been a rollercoaster of a year, with lots of focus on constitutional matters, culminating in the BMC's AGM. Hopefully we will have a smooth and positive future.

Very sadly we have heard about the recent death of Chris Moor whilst on holiday in Spain. Chris was a longstanding attendee of the Peak Area Meeting, and had served as the area's National Council rep. He was a thoroughly nice man, a voice of reason and well-respected for it. He will be greatly missed.

3. Election of Officers

Louise Hawson chaired the meeting whilst officers were elected.

The following candidates were elected unopposed and approved by an overwhelming show of hands.

Role Candidate **Proposed** Seconded Henry Folkard Spence Ramsey Chair Rob Greenwood Peter Judd **David Brown** Secretary Becky Hammond

National Council Alison Cairns Spenser Gray Austin Knott

representative 1

National Council David Brown Spenser Gray Austin Knott

representative 1

Hillwalking representative 1 Peter Judd Henry Folkard Becky Hammond Hillwalking representative 2 Austin Knott Henry Folkard Becky Hammond

Clubs Committee representative

This position is held by David Brown and was not for election this year. It will become vacant next year: the candidate has to be nominated by a club from the area. David would like to hear from anyone who is interested.

Climbing Walls representative

There were no candidates for this position. There is some uncertainty about what is required. To be addressed at a future meeting.

Area Youth Coordinator

Is not usually elected by the meeting. There may be someone doing it but we're not sure who it is.

4. Vote of thanks

Rob explained that the job of the chair and secretary is made easier thanks to the people around us. Firstly the people who attend the meetings. All the Access Reps who cover our area voluntarily: Henry Folkard, Louise Jawson, Jon Fullwood, Adam Long, Andy Reeve, Colin West, Kim Leyland, Andi Turner, Ian Millward & Mark Warwicker; our hillwalking reps Austin Knott & Peter Judd for making us think about hillwalking and not just climbing, our National council reps Alison Cairns & David Brown for representing us. Jon Coefield and Dave Parry who produce the newsletter – a fantastic piece of work – and Spencer Ramsey and Simon Lee who help to distribute it to climbing walls and other places. Spenser Gray for organising the South Peak Limestone Festival. Lynn Robinson for being mad enough to be President!

5. Dates of the 2019 meetings

Wednesday 23 January Wednesday 20 March Wednesday 12 June Wednesday 11 September Wednesday 27 November (AGM)

All at the Maynard Arms, Grindleford