BMC North West Area Meeting

Meeting held online via Zoom On Monday 25th Oct 2021 at 20:45

This meeting dealt with both the area AGM, and the normal area meeting business.

At the request of BMC HQ, separate minutes have been prepared for

- The AGM (which will be approved at the next AGM).
- The normal area meeting business (which will be approved at the next normal meeting)

These minutes are for the AGM portion of the meeting.

AGM Attendance – 18 Some members present for the Area Ordinary meeting left before the AGM started. BMC Officer in attendance – None - Dave Turnbull attended the Ordinary Meeting but had to leave before the AGM. Chair – Emily Pitts; Secretary – Paul Evans

Area Members -Les Ainsworth (Lancs Access Rep), Bill Beveridge (NC Rep), Steve Charles (Area Hillwalking Rep), Katie Coffield, Tim Dobson, Martin Elliott Paul Evans (Area Secretary, KMC), John Glynn, Tim Greenhalgh, Agustin Guardiola, Rebecca Hart, Andy Holland, Stuart Holmes (Area Youth and Walls Rep), Nigel Lyle, Emily Pitts (Area Chair, KMC), Dudley Pritchard, Carl Spencer (NC rep and CND), Richard Toon.

Because Emily was operating the Zoom polls she was not able to register a vote. Zoom poll totals therefore exclude Emily, but she wished to vote in support of all candidates and the zoom poll totals for all candidates have been adjusted by +1 "for" vote accordingly.

1. Apologies. Apologies reported to meeting: Katie Allen, Mark Hounslea, Dave Robinson.

2. Annual General Meeting

Chair's Report: Emily apologised, she had not been able to prepare a chairs report due to pressure of other work.

3. Minutes of the last AGM meeting.

No comments were received or objections raised on the minutes of the previous meeting. They were therefore accepted.

4. Election of officers/reps.

Chair and Secretary

Katie Allen and Agustin Guardiola were elected as Co-Chairs. 15 votes for, 3 abstain, 0 against.

Katie Coffield was elected as Secretary 16 votes for, 2 abstain, 0 against.

National Council Reps

Reps are elected for a 3 year term - Bill Beveridge is due for re-election this year. 18 votes for, 0 abstain, 0 against

Access Reps

Les Ainsworth was re-elected as Lancs Access Rep 17 votes for, 1 abstain, 0 against. Les mentioned that he was now another year older than last year, and that new volunteers to get involved in Lancs access would be much appreciated.

Mark Hounslea was re-elected as Cheshire Access Rep 16 votes for, 2 abstain, 0 against.

Clubs Coordinator

Dominic Oughton was re-elected as Clubs Coordinator 16 votes for, 2 abstain, 0 against.

Hillwalking Reps

Steve Charles stood for election as Hillwalking Rep 17 votes for, 1 abstain, 0 against. Dave Robinson has notified the area that he does not wish to stand for another year as Hillwalking Rep.

Area Youth Coordinators and Walls Representative.

Stuart Holmes was re-elected as Area Walls Rep 17 votes for, 1 abstain, 0 against. Stuart said that the Area Youth Coordinator was currently appointed centrally and that he was continuing to be involved on a "reserve" basis in this role. No area election is currently needed, though this may change.

4. Matters arising from the last AGM minutes - None.

5. AOB

Bill Beveridge said that he thought it would be good for the area volunteers and the new Co-Chairs and Secretary to have a "get to know you" type zoom meeting. Emily had arranged this when she and Paul took up their roles, and Bill thought this had been helpful.