Minutes of the AGM of the SW Area of the BMC 25/01/2012

Present: Jerzy Wieczorek (Chair), Dave Turnbull and about 80 members and others **Apologies:** John Willson, Pete Clark, Richard Nadin, Steve Findlay, Steve Marriott, Steve Taylor, Richard Moss, Pete Davis, Will Wykes *Minutes compiled from notes taken by Colin Knowles*

The AGM started at 1905

The Minutes of the previous AGM were approved nem con.

Jerzy Wieczorek read his Annual Report:

There had only three meetings in the year.

60 people had attended the meeting in Redruth on the Cornish bolt debate. They agreed that there would be no fixed gear on the West Cornish cliffs or inland natural crags and that a group was formed for the planned retro-removal of old fixed equipment.

There were 2 other routine meetings in Bristol, but there had been a lot of activity to prepare for tonight's area meeting.

Scrub clearance had taken place in the Avon Gorge in January; the Gorge Peregrines were ringed as usual by a volunteer group co-ordinated by the BTO.

Scott Titt had led a stake replacement scheme in Swanage.

There had been a public hearing over the attempt to ban climbing on the coastal footpath area in Dorset. The BMC's representations had been successful in preventing a ban.

Sam Mayfield has retired as Secretary, Rich Mayfield has retired as National Council rep; they have emigrated to Spain. Jerzy thanked them for their work, and also for that of Steve Findlay who for uncountable years has been the Avon area Access Rep. Finally he thanked all other officers and volunteers for their efforts in the past year.

The following were elected as Officers

Chair	Matt Goater (Bristol)
Secretary	Vacant
National Council rep	Richard Moss (Bodmin)
National Council rep	Colin Knowles (Bristol)
Clubs rep	Will Wykes
Climbing Wall rep	Steve Taylor
Youth coordinator	Vacant
Access reps	All re-elected except Steve Findlay
Avon Access rep	Vacant

The meeting showed its appreciation for the work of all retiring and continuing officers and reps

Meeting closed at 1923

Addendum

Since the meeting, the following volunteers have stepped forward: Secretary: Philip Wilson (Bristol) Avon Access Rep: Simon Fletcher (Bristol)