

w www.thebmc.co.uk

Yorkshire Area
ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Meeting held at The Wheatley Arms, Ilkley On Monday 2nd Dec at 7:30pm

Minutes

Present:

Sarah Sharps BMC Yorks Area Chair Paul Clarke FRCC, CC James Rowe Vicky Jennings BMC Yorks Area Youth Outdoor LMC, CC Mick Johnson Rep **Emily Thompson KMC** BMC Yorks Area Gritstone Rep Niger Baker Helen Costello **LMC** Dave Musgrove BMC Yorks Area Limestone Rep Stuart Wetherell Individual Angela Soper Individual Peter Roll Individual Rob Dyer FRCC, Pinnacle Club Lorna Vance Individual **BMC Access Officer** John Nightingale **LMC**

1. Welcome and apologies for absence

The chair Sarah Sharps opened the meeting. Apologies were received from John Mortimer, Lindsay McMorran, Chris Page, Nigel Baker, Andy Syme and Jim Hulbert.

2. Quorum

It was noted that a quorum was present in accordance with Article 28.6.1 of the British Mountaineering Council's articles of association (the "Articles").

3. Minutes from the previous Area AGM 19 Nov 18

- 3.1. The chair presented the minutes of the previous Area AGM 19th November 2018.
- 3.2. These were agreed as accurate.

4. Matters arising from those minutes not covered elsewhere

None

5. Election of Officers

- 5.1. The chair noted that the Articles set out the length of terms for each position as follows:
 - 5.1.1. Area Chair and Area Secretary are subject to annual election at an Area AGM (article 28.5.1) and therefore terms of one year;
 - 5.1.2. Area Representative is a three year term (article 28.5.2);
 - 5.1.3. All other positions are subject to annual election at an Area AGM (article 28.5.4) and therefore terms of one year.
- 5.2. The chair stated that therefore the following positions were therefore subject to elections at the AGM:
 - 5.2.1. Chair
 - 5.2.2. Secretary
 - 5.2.3. National Council Representatives
 - 5.2.4. Access and Conservation
 - 5.2.4.1. Gritstone
 - 5.2.4.2. Limestone
 - 5.2.5. Youth

e office@thebmc.co.uk

t 0161 445 6111

www.thebmc.co.uk

5	.2.	5	1	(O	ıı	Н	\sim	\sim	r
O.	. Z.	.ນ.	. 1	٠,	J	uI	u	u	u	ı

- 5.2.6. Climbing Wall Representative
- 5.2.7. Clubs Committee Representative
- 5.2.8. Hill Walking Representative

5.3. Area Chair

5.3.1. Sarah Sharps was proposed by James Rowe and seconded by Stuart Wetherell

Votes: For 15 Against Abstain 0

Sarah Sharps was elected as Area Chair for the forthcoming year.

5.4. Area Secretary

5.4.1. Jim Hulbert was proposed by Paul Clarke and seconded by Angela Soper

Votes: For 15 Against Abstain 0

Jim Hulbert was elected as Area Secretary for the forthcoming year.

5.5. National Council Area Representatives

5.5.1. The Chair noted that both Andy Syme and Mick Green had completed their three year terms as an Area Representatives and they both wished to continue for further three year terms.

Andy Syme was proposed by Sarah Sharps and seconded by James Rowe.

Votes: For

15 Against 0 Abstain 0

Andy Syme was elected as Area Representative for a three year term, such term expiring December 2022.

Mick Green was proposed by Sarah Sharps and seconded by James Rowe.

Votes: For

15 Against 0 Abstain

Mick Green was elected as Area Representative for a three year term, such term expiring December 2022.

5.6. Other positions

5.6.1. Access and Conservation

5.6.1.1. Gritstone Representative

Mick Johnson was proposed by Paul Clarke and seconded by Peter Roll.

Votes: For 15

Against

0 Abstain

Mick Johnson was elected as Gritstone representative for the forthcoming year.

5.6.1.2. Limestone Representative

Nigel Baker was proposed by Mick Johnson and seconded by Peter Barrans.

Votes: For

15 Against

Abstain 0 0

Nigel Baker was elected as Limestone representative for the forthcoming year.

5.6.2. Youth - Outdoor Representative

Vicky Jennings was proposed by Stuart Wetherell and seconded by Mick Johnson. 0

Votes: For

15

Against

Abstain 0

Vicky Jennings was elected as Youth Outdoor Representative for the forthcoming year.

t 0161 445 6111 | e office@thebmc.co.uk

w www.thebmc.co.uk

5.6.3. Climbing Wall Representative

Stuart Wetherell was proposed by Angela Soper and seconded by Paul Clarke.

Votes: For 15 Against 0 Abstain 0

Stuart Wetherell was elected as Climbing Wall Representative for the forthcoming year.

5.6.4. Clubs Committee Representative

Peter Barrans was proposed by Mick Green and seconded by Sarah Sharps.

Votes: For 15 Against 0 Abstain 0

Peter Barrans was elected as Clubs Committee Representative for the forthcoming year.

5.6.5. Hill Walking Representative

Chris Page was proposed by James Rowe and seconded by Peter Roll

Votes: For 15 Against 0 Abstain 0

Chris Page was elected as Hill Walking Representative for the forthcoming year.

6. Date of next Area AGM

6.1. The next AGM will be on the 2nd November 2020.

7. Other business

- 7.1. As David Farrell does not tend to attend meetings it was decided to leave Youth Indoor position for now until he can be contacted.
- 7.2. There being no further business the chair declared the meeting closed.