BRITISH MOUNTAINEERING COUNCIL

177-179 Burton Road Manchester M20 2BB www.thebmc.co.uk Tel: 0161 445 6111 Fax: 0161 445 4500 Email: office@thebmc.co.uk

SOUTH WALES ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Meeting held at Up and Under On Tuesday 26 November 7:30pm

Minutes

1. Welcome and apologies for absence

The chair Ollie Burrows opened the meeting and thanked Up and Under for their hospitality.

Apologies were received from Eugene Travers-Jones, Goi Ashmore, Roy Thomas, Will Kilner, Liz Collier.

A quorum was present in accordance with Article 28.6.1 of the British Mountaineering Council's articles of association (the "Articles"), and no issues with the previous AGM minutes published on the BMC website were raised.

2. Area Chair's Annual Report

The chair gave a brief report that it had been a good year, with productive meetings and background work. Positive progress had been made with Llandarcy, there had been record attendance at Range West briefings, and more people involved in the Area generally.

3. Election of Officers

- 3.1. The Articles set out the length of terms for each position as follows:
 - 3.1.1. Area Chair and Area Secretary are subject to annual election at an Area AGM (article 28.5.1) and therefore terms of one year;
 - 3.1.2. Area Representative is a three year term (article 28.5.2);
 - 3.1.3. All other positions are subject to annual election at an Area AGM (article 28.5.4) and therefore terms of one year.

3.2. Area Chair

3.2.1. Ollie Burrows was proposed by himself and seconded by CJ Griffiths.

Approved unopposed.

Ollie Burrows was elected as Area Chair for the forthcoming year.

3.3. Area Secretary

3.3.1. Peter Sheppard was proposed by himself and seconded by Ollie Burrows Approved unopposed.

Peter Sheppard was elected as Area Secretary for the forthcoming year.

3.4. Area Representative

3.4.1. The chair noted that Will Kilner had completed their second three year term as an Area Representative and was unable to continue.

CJ Griffiths was proposed by Peter Salenieks and seconded by Kevin Powell Approved unopposed.

3.4.2. CJ Griffiths was elected as Area Representative for a three year term, such term expiring November 2022.

3.5. Access rep - Gower

- 3.5.1. The chair expressed thanks to Matt Woodfield who had undertaken this role for a number of years but was now standing down.
- 3.5.2. Stu Burns was proposed by Matt Woodfield and seconded by Ollie Burrows Approved unopposed.

Stu Burns was elected as Gower Access Rep for the forthcoming year.

3.6. Access rep - Inland

Eben Muse was confirmed to be continuing in this role.

3.7. Area Youth Co-ordinator

A potential name had been received, however sufficient time was not available to check for and resolve any potential conflict of interest prior to the meeting, therefore it was agreed this role would remain vacant for the time being and could be filled at a subsequent Area Meeting.

3.8. Clubs rep

Peter Salenieks was confirmed to be continuing in this role.

3.9. Hillwalking rep

CJ Griffiths was confirmed to be continuing in this role.

Emma Davies was suggested to become an additional helper to assist with this role, and this was approved unopposed (proposed CJ Griffiths, seconded by Ollie Burrows)

There being no further business the chair declared the meeting closed.