## BRITISH MOUNTAINEERING COUNCIL

177-179 Burton Road Manchester M20 2BB www.thebmc.co.uk Tel: 0161 445 6111 Fax: 0161 445 4500 e-mail:office@thebmc.co.uk

# **MINUTES OF MIDLANDS AGM**

# Held 4th November 2020 ONLINE via ZOOM

**Present:** Andy Potter (Chair), John Edwards (Sec), Claudia Sarner (Area Rep), David Jones (Area Rep), Ian Wyatt (Clubs Rep), Andy Harper (Access East), Andy Railton (Access West), Lyn Robinson (BMC President), Phil Simister (SolihullMC), John Handley (CoventryMC). Roger Fanner (SolihullMC), Dave Holland (WolverhamptonMC), Hazel Lewis (Pinnacle Club), Stuart Webb (MAM), Tim Weller (Halesowen), Tamsin Mayberry, Charlotte Whitmore, Roy Denney, Tony Griffin, Pauline Burton, Janet Campbell, Rosi Yule. **Max 22, of whom 19 were present at the start of the meeting. As far as can be ascertained this included 8 female attendees & 0 BAME.** 

- **1. Welcome and Apologies:** Andy Potter welcomed everyone to the meeting. Apologies had been received from Mike Beaumont & Richard Law.
- 2. **Practice Voting:** Andy Potter said the because of the online nature of the meeting the AGM part would be held first and he proposed to run 3 practice questions to check people where happy to proceed with electronic voting.
  - a) Is this your first meeting? Answer 39% Yes 61% No
  - **b)** Are you eligible to vote? Answer 95% Yes 5% No (i.e. the BMC President)
  - c) Are you happy to vote by Zoom? Answer 100% Yes
- 3. Andy Potter thanked the volunteers who had filled the various positions for the last 12 months. He reminded the meeting that Ian Wyatt was elected as Clubs Rep last year for a 3 year term but asked for nominations for the other positions.

The final Midland Area committee was elected as follows (all with 95% Yes ie Nem con):-

Position	Name	Proposed	Seconder
Chair	Andy Potter	John Edwards	Andy Railton
Secretary	No volunteer	Andy Potter will	try to co-opt
Access East	Andy Harper	Roy Deeney	Andy Railton
Access West	Richard Law	Andy Potter	lan Wyatt
Climbing Walls	No specific rep	needed- No BMC	Climb committee
Hill Walking	David Jones	Andy Wyatt	John Edwards
Youth	Claudia Sarner	Hazel Lewis	Andy Harper

#### 4. National Council Reps - elected

Name	Proposed	Seconder
Claudia Sarner	John Edwards	Tim Weller
David Jones	Ian Wyatt	Tim Weller

### 5. Any Other Business

None. This part of the Meeting closed 8.10 pm

Written by John Edwards