

BRITISH MOUNTAINEERING COUNCIL

177-179 Burton Road Manchester M20 2BB www.thebmc.co.uk Tel: 0161 445 6111 Fax: 0161 445 4500 Email: office@thebmc.co.uk

NORTH EAST AREA ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Hybrid meeting: Brinkburn St. Brewery (NE6 1NW) / Zoom on 17th November, 19:00

Minutes

Attendance (17)

NE Area Committee (7). Peter McCreedy (Chair), Simon Litchfield (Secretary), Jon Punshon (Members' Council), Jonathan White (Members' Council), Adrian Wilson (Clubs), Chris Bullock (Youth & Competitions), Lewis Hobson (Access Central). **NE Area Members (8).** Mark Anstiss, Richard Davies, Graham Harkness, Mark Goodings, Bob McAdam, John Spencer, Arda Deniz Turgul, Jessica Wortley. **Guests (2).** Fiona Sanders (BMC, Council Nominated Director), Keith Sanders.

1. Welcome and apologies for absence

The Chair, Peter McCreedy, opened the Meeting. Apologies received from Steve Blake and Mike Conlon (NE Area Committee) and Ciara Barrett Smith (President, NMC).

2. Quorum

There was 15 voting members in attendance at the start of the meeting (9 in the room and 6 online), so it was noted that a quorum was present in accordance with Article 7.1 of the Area Terms of Reference.

3. Minutes from the previous Annual General Meeting held on 19th October 2021

The minutes from the previous Area 2021 AGM, a draft of which had been produced to the meeting, were approved by way of a vote on a show of hands.

4. Matters arising not covered elsewhere

They were no matters arising not covered elsewhere.

5. Area Chair's Annual Report

An annual report was not provided due to there been nothing significant to report.

6. Election of officers

6.1. The chair noted that the Articles set out the length of terms for each position as follows:

- 6.1.1. Area Chairperson and Area Secretary are subject to annual election at an Area AGM (article 30.4.1) and therefore terms of one year;
- 6.1.2. Members' Council Representative is a three-year term (article 30.4.3);
- 6.1.3. All other positions are subject to annual election at an Area AGM (article 30.4.6) and therefore terms of one year.

6.2. Chairperson

Peter McCreedy, who was co-opted earlier in the year, was elected as Chairperson of the North East Area. Unanimous.

6.3. **Secretary**

Jon Punshon was elected a Secretary of the North East Area. Two abstentions.

The Chairperson formally minuted his thanks to Simon Litchfield for his seven years of service to the North East Area as its Secretary.

6.4. Members' Council Representatives

Jon Punshon and Jonathan White, both of whom were co-opted earlier in the year, were both elected at Members' Council Representatives for the North East Area. Unanimous.

6.5. Access Representative North (Northumberland & Newcastle)

Despite Steve Blake expressing his intention to step down, no new candidates were forthcoming. Steve Blake had agreed prior to the meeting to stay in the role until a volunteer steps forwards so was duly re-elected. Unanimous.

6.6. Access Representative Central (County Durham)

Lewis Hobson was re-elected. Unanimous.

6.7. Access Representative Central (County Durham)

Mike Conlon was re-elected. Unanimous.

6.8. Club Representative

Adrian Wilson, who was co-opted earlier in the year, was elected as the Areas Club Representative. Unanimous.

6.9. Hill Walking Representative

Due to unforeseen circumstances Liz King was unable to attend the meeting. Since no further candidates stepped forward, the Chairperson will invite her to continue with any actions and co-option at further meetings.

Action: The Chairperson to invite Liz King to continue as the North East Area Hill Walking Representative.

6.10. Climbing Wall Representative

Despite an expression of interest ahead of the meeting, there was no candidate. The role, therefore, remains vacant with the Committee able to co-opt should a suitable candidate be forthcoming.

6.11. Youth Representative

Chris Bullock was re-elected. Unanimous.

6.12. Competitions Representative

Chris Bullock was re-elected. Unanimous.

6.13. Social Media Representative

The was the first appointment of the role in the Area. Simon Litchfield was duly elected. Unanimous.

Lewis Hobson and Arda Deniz Turgul volunteered their services in a supporting role; both will be invited by the Social Media Representative to engage in due course to bolster the Area's social media output.

7. Any Other Business

7.1. Mark Anstiss (former NE Area Chair) recorded a note of thanks for new committee members, both for the last 12 months and their approach going forward.

8. Date of next meeting

The next Annual General Meeting would be in November 2023.

9. Close meeting

19:55

Item	Action	Involving	Target date
5.9	The Chairperson to invite Liz King to continue as the	Chair	Before next
	North East Area Hill Walking Representative.		Area meeting

Simon Litchfield, Secretary 28 November 2022

The above is accepted as an accurate record of the meeting:

Signed

Teter McClaeo 1. 28 November 2022

P M S McCreedy, Chair