

BRITISH MOUNTAINEERING COUNCIL

177-179 Burton Road Manchester M20 2BB www.thebmc.co.uk Tel: 0161 445 6111 Fax: 0161 445 4500 Email: office@thebmc.co.uk

DE CYMRU SOUTH WALES ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Meeting held electronically by Zoom On Monday 24 October 2022, commending 7:30pm

Minutes

Attendance: -

There were 15 people connected at the start of the meeting, plus 2 BMC staff.

1. Welcome and apologies for absence

The chair Dorian Thomas opened the meeting. Apologies were received from Stuart Burns.

2. Quorum

It was noted that a quorum was present in accordance with Article 28.6.1 of the British Mountaineering Council's articles of association (the "Articles").

3. Voting at the AGM

It was noted that the votes to be held would be held by way of a poll on Zoom and to ensure all those voting were happy with this a poll was launched stating:

"All votes will be held via polls on Zoom on the understanding that those in attendance will only vote if they are Area Members and the results of the votes held will be valid on this basis"

Votes: For 12 Against 0 Abstain 2

Note: Due to the way the Zoom platform works with those hosting a meeting, the Area Chair and Area Secretary were unable to record their votes. On checking the Zoom voting reports following the meeting, it was noted that two abstentions recorded against most votes were BMC staff. In an in-person meeting these would have been treated as non-votes rather than recorded abstentions, however they are reported in the minutes as declared during the meeting.

4. Minutes from the previous Area AGM

4.1. The minutes from the previous Area AGM held on 18 October 2021, a draft of which had been posted online, were approved with no queries.

5. Area Chair's Annual Report

Tom Carrick was introduced as the new access officer, and gave a brief update on his work over the last 6 months, and forthcoming plans.

The chair's report had been published on the website in advance of the meeting.

6. Election of Officers

6.1. The chair noted that the Articles set out the length of terms for each position as follows:

- 6.1.1. Area Chair and Area Secretary are subject to annual election at an Area AGM (article 28.5.1) and therefore terms of one year;
- 6.1.2. Area Representative is a three year term (article 28.5.2);
- 6.1.3. All other positions are subject to annual election at an Area AGM (article 28.5.4) and therefore terms of one year.
- 6.2. The chair stated that therefore the following positions were subject to elections at the Area AGM:
 - 6.2.1. Chair
 - 6.2.2. Secretary
 - 6.2.3. Most Area Representatives did not require re-election but would be confirmed anyway
- 6.3. A Zoom poll was held to confirm each position. The chair had confirmed representatives were happy to continue in advance, and new appointees were proposed as indicated.

6.4. Area Chair

6.4.1. Dorian Thomas was proposed by Peter Sheppard and seconded by Pete Salenieks
 Votes: For 12 Against 0 Abstain 2
 Dorian Thomas was elected as Area Chair for the forthcoming year.

6.5. Area Secretary

6.5.1. Peter Sheppard was proposed by Joe Holmes and seconded by Steve Quinton Votes: For
12 Against
0 Abstain
2 Peter Sheppard was elected as Area Secretary for the forthcoming year.

6.6. Members Council representative

6.6.1. There were no nominations, therefore a vacancy exists for this role.

6.7. Access Rep - Gower

6.7.1. The chair noted that Stuart Burns had agreed to be the Access Rep - Gower. The chair sought a confirmatory vote:

Votes:For12Against0Abstain2Stuart Burns was confirmed as Access Rep – Gower

6.8. Access Rep - Pembroke

6.8.1. The chair noted that Steve Quinton had agreed to be the Access Rep - Pembroke. The chair sought a confirmatory vote:

Votes:For13Against0Abstain1Steve Quinton was confirmed as Access Rep – Pembroke

6.9. Access Rep – South East

6.9.1. The chair noted that Alex Seekings had agreed to be the Access Rep – South East. The chair sought a confirmatory vote:Votes: For 11 Against 0 Abstain 3

Alex Seekings was confirmed as Access Rep – South East

6.10. Hillwalking Rep

6.10.1. The chair noted that Alan Gibbs had agreed to be the Hillwalking Rep. The chair sought a confirmatory vote:
Votes: For 12 Against 0 Abstain 2
Alan Gibbs was confirmed as Hillwalking Rep

6.11. Climbing Walls Rep

6.11.1. There were no nominations, therefore a vacancy exists for this role.

6.12. Clubs Rep

6.12.1. The chair noted that Pete Salenieks had agreed to be the Clubs Rep. The chair sought a confirmatory vote:Votes: For 12 Against 0 Abstain 2

Pete Salenieks was confirmed as Clubs Rep

6.13. Mountain Training Cymru

6.13.1. The chair noted that Matt Woodfield had agreed to be the representative to Mountain Training Cymru. The chair sought a confirmatory vote:
Votes: For 12 Against 0 Abstain 2
Matt Woodfield was confirmed as representative to Mountain Training Cymru

6.14. Student Clubs

6.14.1. The chair noted that Jacob Isaac had agreed to be the Student Clubs Rep. The chair sought a confirmatory vote:
Votes: For 12 Against 0 Abstain 2
Jacob Isaac was confirmed as Student Clubs Rep

6.15. Area Youth Coordinator

6.15.1. The chair noted that Joe Holmes had agreed to be the Area Youth Coordinator. The chair sought a confirmatory vote:

Votes:For12Against0Abstain2Joe Holmes was confirmed as Area Youth Coordinator

7. Date of next Area AGM

7.1. Dates for 2023 are to be determined and will be posted on the website and Facebook group in due course. The intention is to run two Zoom meetings and two hybrid face to face.

8. Other business

There being no further business the chair declared the meeting closed.